2023 Community Building Awards

When cultivating an inclusive community culture, it is important to provide incentives, support, and recognition to people and organizations that further inclusive values. In this spirit, the New Jersey Council on Developmental Disabilities established an awards program to encourage individuals to undertake activities that create inclusive communities while showing appreciation to those who demonstrate exceptional commitment and advocacy.

The awards luncheon will be held on September 28, 2023 at The Estate at Farrington Lake, East Brunswick, New Jersey. Invitations for awardees and guests will be sent at a later date.


Daniel J. Keating Leadership Award: Norman Smith
Access Above and Beyond Award: Nadine Wright-Arbubakrr
Colleen Fraser Self-Advocate Award: Patrice Jetter
Fellowship Inclusive Education Award: Karen Zubulake
Multi-Media Award: Sue Livio
Distinguished Dd Systems Change Award: Paul Aronsohn
Elizabeth Boggs Family Member Advocate Award: Betsy Yard
Exceptional PolicyMaker: Assemblyman Louis Greenwald
Lifetime Achievement Advocacy Award: Deborah M. Spitalnik PhD


Colleen Fraser Self-Advocate Award: Bill Byrne
Elizabeth Boggs Family-Member Advocate Award: Melanie Ayers
Lifetime Achievement Advocacy Award: Diana Autin
Distinguished DD Systems Change Award: The Collaborative for Citizen Directed Supports

Access Above & Beyond Award: Ava Loveland
Exceptional Policymaker Award: Senator Joseph F. Vitale
Multi-Media Award: Gene Myers

Fellowship Inclusive Education Award: Tracy Rand
The Daniel J. Keating Award: Diane D’Orazio