NJCDD Members & Staff

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Council Members

Council members review the state’s service systems for people with developmental disabilities and advise policy makers on the best ways to change those systems to better serve the population. Members also review and award grants to spark innovative projects throughout New Jersey as well as advocate for people with developmental disabilities and their families on an ongoing basis.


Paul Blaustein, Edison, NJ
Family Member Advocate

Vice Chair

Kevin Nunez, Willingboro, NJ

Self Advocate Members

Todd Emmons, Voorhees, NJ
Andrew McGeady, Jackson, NJ
Myrta Rosa, Elizabeth, NJ
Gary Rubin, Elizabeth, NJ
Kevin Nunez, Willingboro, NJ

Immediate Family or Guardian Members

Ellie Byra, Flemington, NJ
Walter Fernandez, Barnegat, NJ
Safiyyah Muhammad, East Orange, NJ
Tara Montague, Burlington, NJ
Paul Blaustein, Edison, NJ
Margaret (Peg) Kinsell, Browns Mills, NJ
Elizabeth C. Dalzell, Haddonfield, NJ
Helen I. Steinberg, Plainsboro, NJ
Kara Kushnir, Pompton Lakes, NJ

Federally Mandated Members

Federally mandated members of the Council serve in accordance with the federal Developmental Disabilities Bill of Rights and Assistance Act.

A.) State Agency Representatives

NJ Department of Health Division of Family Health Services
Lisa Asare, Assistant Commissioner
Dawn Mergen, Designee
PO Box 364, Trenton, NJ 08625
Email: dawn.mergen@doh.nj.gov

NJ Department of Education, Division of Student Services
Peggy McDonald, Assistant Commissioner
Kimberly Murray, Designee
PO Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08625
Email: kimberly.murray@doe.nj.gov

NJ Department of Labor Div. of Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Karen Carroll, Director
David Free, Designee
PO Box 398, Trenton, NJ 08625
Email: David.Free@dol.state.nj.us

NJ Department of Human Services Div. of Medical Assistance & Health Services
Meghan Davey, Director
Phyllis Napier Melendez, Designee
PO Box 712, Trenton, NJ 08625-0712
Email: phyllis.melendez@dhs.state.nj.us

Public Member

The Arc of Morris County
William Testa, Executive Director
P.O. Box 123, Executive Drive, Morris Plains, NJ 07950
Email: w.testa@arcmorris.org

B.) ADD Funded Agencies

Protection and Advocacy System – Disability Rights New Jersey (DRNJ)
Gwen Orlowski, Executive Director | Jill Hoegel (Designee)
210 S. Broad St., Trenton, NJ 08608
Email: gorlowski@drnj.org

University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research and Service –
The Boggs Center on Developmental Disabilities at Rutgers University

Joyce Jelley, Training & Consultation Specialist
Liberty Plaza, 335 George Street | New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Email: joyse.jelley@rutgers.edu

C.) State Statute Mandated Members

NJ Department of Human Services – Div. of Developmental Disabilities
Jonathan Seifried, Assistant Commissioner
PO Box 726, Trenton, NJ 08625-0726
Email: jonathan.seifried@dhs.state.nj.us

NJ Department of Human Services Division of Disability Services
Peri Nearon, MPA, Executive Director
Jacqueline Moskowitz, Designee
PO Box 705, Trenton, NJ 08625-0705
Email: peri.neron@dhs.state.nj.us

Council Staff

Executive Director
Mercedes Witowsky

Administrative Assistant
Jacinta Williams

Coordinator of Regional Family Support Planning Councils
Kyoko Coco

Family Support Liaison
Rebekah Novemsky

Chief Fiscal Officer
Jodi Fox

Public Policy Coordinator
Robert Titus

Gail Hodges

Youth Leadership Coordinator
Frank Latham

Communication Officer
Gary L. Brown

Graphic Designer/ Web Administrator
Maria Ali

Copyright 2019- The New Jersey Council on Developmental Disabilities
Advocate | Collaborate | Educate