Legislative Disability Caucus

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Senate President Sweeney, Legislative Leaders & Self Advocates from Disability Community Join Together to Launch a Bipartisan Disability Caucus in the New Jersey Legislature

The newly formed New Jersey Legislative Disability Caucus serves as a bipartisan forum within the New Jersey Legislature for lawmakers and their staff to consider the impact on the disability community when shaping ALL public policies in the Garden State through increased awareness and a greater understanding of the complexities of the disabilities service system and issues affecting individuals with disabilities and their families. People with disabilities, their families, and organizations that serve support and advocate for people with disabilities in New Jersey serve as a resource to the Caucus, providing education and programming as needed.

Legislators who are members of the caucus serve as champions for individuals with disabilities in New Jersey by meeting with them in their district offices; participating in quarterly education forums; and above all, promoting policies to improve the lives of people with disabilities and considering the impact on the disability community in shaping all public policies in New Jersey.

With approximately 25 percent of adults in New Jersey identify as having some type of disability, the Caucus ensures their voice is heard in the decision-making process. This is critically important as people with disabilities in New Jersey continue to seek opportunities to be included and represented in all aspects of life as an integral part of the fabric of our society, despite progress after the passage of the American with Disabilities Act (ADA) 30 years ago. New Jersey is among just a handful of states that has formed a Disability Caucus within its state legislature.

Download: Backgrounder | Media Advisory

Virtual Quarterly Briefings

Covid and the Disability Community | January 26, 2021, at 12 pm
Topic to be announced | April 27, 2021, at 12 pm
Topic to be announced | July 27, 2021, at 12 pm
Topic to be announced | October 26, 2021, at 12pm

Become a Caucus Member- NJ Legislative Disability Caucus

Become a Supporting Agency- NJ Legislative Disability Caucus

Suggest a topic for discussion

sign up for caucus updates

Legislative Disability Caucus Members

Senator Stephen M. Sweeney – Chair
Senator Anthony M. Bucco
Senator Kristin M. Corrado
Senator Patrick J. Diegnan, Jr.
Senator Vin Gopal
Senator Thomas H. Kean, Jr.
Senator Fred H. Madden, Jr.
Senator Declan J. O’Scanlon, Jr.
Senator M. Teresa Ruiz
Senator Troy Singleton
Senator Joseph F. Vitale

Assemblyman Daniel R. Benson
Assemblywoman Annette Chaparro
Assemblyman Nicholas Chiaravalloti

Assemblyman Ronald S. Dancer
Assemblywoman Joann Downey
Assemblywoman Aura K. Dunn
Assemblyman Louis D. Greenwald
Assemblyman Eric Houghtaling
Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle
Assemblywoman Pamela Lampitt
Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez
Assemblywoman Nancy F. Munoz
Assemblywoman Carol A. Murphy
Assemblywoman Holly T. Schepisi
Assemblyman Adam J. Taliaferro
Assemblywoman Britnee N. Timberlake
Assemblyman Anthony S. Verrelli
Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker

Copyright 2019- The New Jersey Council on Developmental Disabilities
Advocate | Collaborate | Educate